top of page
  • Writer's pictureMariah Aurora

Therapy or coaching, What Should I do?

Updated: Sep 17, 2018

As a legal precaution, I must tell you that coaching is not intended to diagnose or treat any medical conditions. If you suspect you may suffer from a mental illness, such as clinical depression, requiring professional treatment please find a licensed mental health provider in your area immediately.


So, Now that that is out of the way, let's get to what you really came here for.


What is depression?

According to the American Psychiatric Association Depression is "a common and serious medical illness that negatively affects how you feel, the way you think and how you act... Depression causes feelings of sadness and/or a loss of interest in activities once enjoyed. It can lead to a variety of emotional and physical problems and can decrease a person’s ability to function at work and at home."


Depression can be crippling and if you are currently suffering, just know that I have been where you are, and recovery is available to you!


What is the difference between therapy and coaching?

The main difference is the level of training and education required. Licensed therapists (whether it be a psychologist, marriage and family counselor, psychiatrist, or any other mental health treatment professional) are required to earn a traditional degree, go through approved training and take a test.


Traditional therapy focuses more on the past, while coaches help you to define your goals, formulate a plan, hold you accountable for sticking to your plan, and offer support and encouragement.


You may think that the education and certification requirement is a good thing. Maybe it provides you with some additional trust. But have you stopped to think about the government regulations and education system? Do you even agree with them? What topics and methodologies are they teaching, and requiring they therapists stick to? If you are anything like me, you'll realize that many of the education requirements these days are archaic and don't include the whole picture. They don't include a spiritual approach to finding happiness and fulfillment. They don't encourage you to creatively explore your own personal needs and desires and they are designed to treat the symptoms, not the actual cause of your condition.


The last time I saw a therapist was long after I overcame my depression. I went because I was being massively unproductive, I was unable to focus, I got divorced and my father died a few months apart, I was really struggling emotionally. After 5 or 6 sessions I decided I needed to find a new way. I would talk with her and leave feeling like I accomplished absolutely nothing. I still had the same problems, with no way to solve them, the only difference was now another person knew about it. I knew that I had to leave the traditional model behind.


How can coaching help me?

For many, coaching fits in with their current treatment. Some counselors even recommend their clients work concurrently with a coach in order to gain the strategic action plan they need as well as additional support.


Using coaching to overcome depression or any other condition, works by choosing goals in one specific area of your life to work on at a time. Together you and your coach set a goal, create an action plan and systematically work toward it until you accomplish the goal. Depression can often make it difficult to stay motivated so having a coach who checks in on you regularly with support, and tough love when needed could be just what you need to start being more productive and increasing the quality of your life.


Each coach works a little differently, so it is important to choose one that you feel energetically connected to. If you don't like them you probably won't find your work with them helpful.


What is your approach?

My program offers you simple and easy to implement techniques you can use to shift your mindset and beliefs about who you are as a person, your capabilities, and thought process around solving problems. I mapped out my own experience, what I needed in order to overcome my problems and create a better quality of life for myself. I share that information with you and you can apply as much of it as you wish to your own life. For more details of my program and to figure out if its right for you please visit mariahauarora.com/work-with-me.


My results

I personally suffered from depression for many years and sought treatment through counseling, psychotherapy, as well as anti-depressant medication, and I ultimately decided that those were not the methods I wanted to use to overcome my depression. I was unhappy with the results and I needed a more focused approach. I developed my own strategies and techniques to learn to deal with my life. Through the use of these systems I improved my mood, outlook on life, ability to make decisions, and mindset which ultimately led to my depression fading away.


I am not promising that my coaching will cure you. I am not saying it will help you at all, I AM saying, This worked for me. It has worked for my family members. It has worked for my clients. It is up to you to decide how to live your life and if you believe that my methods and approach will better serve you than what you've been doing up until now, I encourage you to apply for my program.


Legally: If you have depression you need to seek out professional treatment from a qualified therapist.

My opinion: I don't like the current western medicine model. I didn't find treatment for mental conditions effective. I believe my unique blend of techniques will work for those who are truly committed to recovery above all else.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page